Live Music Week of May 13 through May 19 2013

Standard

5/13/13     Lyle Lovett     Schermerhorn Symphony Center

I have loved Lyle Lovett’s music forever and I saw him last year with John Hiatt.  Seeing him live and experiencing his infectious personality only made me even more excited about a show with him and his acoustic band.  

5/14/13     The Breeders     Cannery Ballroom

I had never heard of this band before but they were highly recommended by a good friend whose musical taste I trust.  Not my most favourite venue but a good place for a Tuesday night. 

5/15/13     Brian Ashley Jones     Music City Roots at The Loveless Cafe

I was introduced to the music of  Brian by a former roommate when we had a party in our backyard.  This long time road warrior is getting some well deserved recognition by the Nashville community.  The rest of the lineup will most likely be great too especially since Jim Lauderdale pretty much always opens up the show.   

5/16/13     Jeffrey Steele and Friends     3rd and Lindsley

This is a benefit for the Brentwood YMCA.  It’d be great if you would support it because they often hire one of my clients, Mr. Bond, The Science Guy!  It’s always a party when Jeffrey Steele is in the house but the list of friends performing will make this one heck of a night. Charlie Crow, Phil Barton, Travis Howard, Kurtis John, The Shuggah Pies, Jimmy Stewart and more…

5/17/13     Brandi Carlile with the Nashville Symphony     Schermerhorn Symphony Center

If you have not heard this incredible vocalist you are in for a HUGE treat.  I can only imagine how amazing she will sound backed by the incredible musicians that make up the Nashville Symphony.  

5/18/13     The Avett Brothers     Bridgestone Arena

I first saw this band at an Americana festival at Montgomery Bell Park.  I was talking with a friend and they hit the stage and we stopped, stared and were hooked.  I called them bluegrass punk and since then I have seen them many times including standing on a fence behind Grimey’s during Record Store Day just to catch a glimpse. This will be my first large arena experience with the Avetts and although I’m not a fan of this size of a show I’m pretty psyched. 

5/19/13     Phil Vassar and Ten Out of Tenn     Music City Center

Sunday and Monday will be the grand opening of the gigantic Convention Center in downtown Nashville.  They have two nights of music slated to introduce Nashville to the Center at its grand opening.  Should be an incredible extravaganza.  

 

Leave a Reply

